BarkBox June 2014

Standard

Hey Everyone! Welcome to my page. This is the first post I am doing and of course it is dog related. I recently ordered a Barkbox subscriptions for my big spoiled puppies and it finally came today!!! I think I was a little too excited for it.

If you are reading this you are probably already aware of what Barkbox is but in case you don’t know here is a brief summary for you. Barkbox is a monthly subscription box of doggie products. Every month you will receive toys, treats or other dog products for your furry kids. The prices range depending on which package you choose (I did the six month package for $19/month). The current rate for a one month subscription is $29/month. When you order your box,  you pick the size of your dog so the products in the box fit to your little one or big buddy. Some great things about BarkBox:

  • Products are from the USA or Canada (no worrying about recalls from China!)
  • You get some great healthy and safe products.
  • When you order a BarkBox 10% goes to supporting a rescue group
  • You can give away your extra BarkBoxes to shelters.

If you would like to learn more about Barkbox, I have a link at the bottom of my post. Use the link and you will also get a 10% discount on your barkbox subscription. 😀 Okay on to this month’s box. The dogs area always excited when the mailman comes to the door and this was no exception. He apologized for setting off the “doggie alarm” but he didn’t want to leave the box out in the rain.

Image*Here is the obligatory box picture before we open it.

Now when I say Hershey and Java were excited I mean it. Java is usually afraid of boxes (her fear and hatred of all cardboard boxes is legendary… and sad…. and hilarious). But apparently that fear will go away if said evil box holds delicious goodies because before I could even get a picture of the pretty tissue paper, this happened- Image*No BarkBox items were injuried in the making of this picture (the box however will probably not survive this tale)

Once the box was Java free, we were able to finally get a look at what we got in our first box.

Image*A picture of the box sans Java’s nose.

Now the first thing we did was look at the card… Okay, that’s a lie. We tossed that card aside and checked out the toy and treats. But every review I see starts with the card to tell you the theme or whatever so I guess we will start with that too.

Image*Look, its another obligatory picture that everyone is going to skip over. lol

Okay, the theme is healthy (but delicious) eating in these warm summer months. So this box paid specific attention to organic, GMO-free products and eco-friendly toys. And that’s all I have to say on that so on to the treats!

20140618_133640                                   * Healthy Dogma Duck Recipe Barkers (amazon $11.96)

Hershey and Java loved these treats! The main ingredient is actually duck not random fillers. In fact,  these treats are grain free! They are excellent healthy treats for your pups. There are a decent size. Hershey gobbled his down in two bites while Java rubbed against it and then savored it (read taunted Hershey) at a slower pace. They are both trying to get the container from me as I am typing this. Clearly it is going to be awhile before they behave themselves and earn another treat.

20140618_133647                              *Cool Treats Smoothies for Dogs (Carrot Cake) (amazon 6 pack for the other flavors- $77.51 sooooo ~$12.92) 0.0

Now here is a real dilemma- One BarkBox, Two Dogs. But looking past that obstacle, I think this is a pretty awesome treat for them. Hershey and Java loooove ice cubes. In fact, we have to keep the ice cube dispenser locked in order to prevent them from getting ice cubes out every five minutes. So ice cream or smoothies are definitely a win. The good news is just yesterday I made them some homemade ice cream so I am sure there is a way for them both to get a treat when I finally use this.

20140618_133656                              *Bocce’s Bakery Truffle Mac & Cheese (amazon ~ $6.25)

“A cheesy biscuit with Bacon & Truffle”- Now if that doesn’t sound delicious I don’t know what does! No preservatives, wheat free, and of course made in the United States. It only has four ingredients- all human-grade. It’s good enough for us humans if you dared yourself to try it. They are just a bit smaller than the duck recipe barkers. However, the dogs always need a nice snack for good behavior.

20140618_133735*JW megalast ball (large)  (amazon: $7.95)

This was the one shot I got of the ball before my boyfriend, Jt, gave it to the dogs. I haven’t gotten the ball back yet. This is perfect! Some may say Java is a bit destructive with her toys- though we like to say she just enjoys customizing her toys. This usually results in stuffing from plushies everywhere and their plushie skin (Sorry that sounds horrible) in tatters (and her favorite thing to play with afterwards). This ball is strong, I could feel that as soon as I picked it up. Java and Hershey could too but they are still trying to test it’s true strength. The best part, Hershey loves playing with a ball. Though, he is blind he will run around until he finds it, just so he can bring it back.

20140618_140753*He loves posing for the camera

20140618_134030 (1)                                     *She will not stop until it is destroyed.

Now I know all toys are not going to be this durable. However I have heard, if your dog is a heavy chewer, you can email BarkBox after placing your order and they will mark your account for more durable toys. I have not done this because I am still testing out Barkbox and Java just loves her custom made toys. This toy is definitely a winner at our house.

If you are interested in the products you have seen here, Barkbox lists where they come from on the back of that card that I tossed aside earlier. I took a picture of it but since you might not be able to see that I have wrote the websites below.

 

20140618_133705

 

The total price of the box this month (according to my amazon search) was $39.08. Now considering I paid less than $19 a month for these I think that was a great deal (remember that 10% discount link really helps!) Now I will say $12.92 for that little smoothie seems much however it is gluten, dairy and wheat free plus low calorie and low fat.

If you are interested in surprising your pets with delicious and super healthy treats and toys every month, try out BarkBox. Hershey and Java loved the first box and we can’t wait for more doggie presents each month.

***Below is a link to save 10% on your subscription, trust me it is worth it! 

http://ruv.barkbox.com/x/LebHCk

Love,

these Knuckleheads

20140618_155032

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

